Rana Kapoor

Rana Kapoor is the Founder, Managing Director & CEO of YES Bank. He has been a professional entrepreneur since 1998. He has progressively established YES BANK since launch in 2003, as a high quality, state-of-the-art private Indian Bank with a vision of “Building India’s Finest Quality Large Bank”. Under his leadership, YES BANK has steadily evolved as the “Professionals’ Bank of India” with exemplary business and financial outcomes as evidenced in the financial results since inception, with strong profitability, and consistent asset quality.

Rana Kapoor received an Honorary Fellowship from All India Management Association (AIMA), Doctorate in Science (Honoris Causa) from G.B. Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, India’s foremost and oldest Agri University, for his contribution to the Food & Agribusiness sector in INDIA. He holds an MBA degree from Rutgers’ University in New Jersey, U.S.A. (1980), and a Bachelor’s degree in Economics (Honours) from the University of Delhi (1977). He has also received the prestigious President’s Medal from Rutgers University.

In a span of 14+ years, YES BANK has received significant national and global recognitions & accolades including the prestigious Best Bank for SMEs in India in 2018 from Asiamoney magazine, Bank of the Year, India Award in 2017 and 2015 from The Banker magazine, UK, Asian Banker Strongest Bank in India 2016, 2015, 2013, 2012, Best Midsized Bank for 2017, 2015, 2013, 2012, 2010, 2009 & 2008 in the Business Today-KPMG Best Banks Annual Survey. YES BANK was awarded the Best Bank (Mid-Size) by Businessworld and adjudged Best Managed Bank in India by the Asian Banker (2011-2013), Jakarta, 2013. YES BANK received the Rank 1 Sustainable Bank of the Year (Asia/Pacific) award at the FT/IFC Sustainable Finance Awards 2012 and 2011, London and was included as a Foundation Member of the World Economic Forum (WEF), Geneva.

Rana Kapoor was recently felicitated with the ‘CNBC Asia’s India Talent Management’ award at the 13th edition of CNBC TV 18’s India Business Leader Awards. Rana Kapoor was also felicitated by the Hon’ble Governor of Maharashtra, Shri CH Vidyasagar Rao and the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Shri Devendra Fadnavis, for his ‘commitment to the development of the State of Maharashtra’. Rana Kapoor was felicitated as CEO of the Year at SABRE Asia Pacific Awards 2016 in Hong Kong by The Holmes Group. Mr. Kapoor was also recognized by the Lokmat Group for this Exemplary Contribution to Infrastructure Banking. Mr. Kapoor was adjudged ‘The Leading Banker of the Decade’ by The Indian Chamber of Commerce (ICC). He has been felicitated for his ‘Outstanding Contribution to Innovation in Financial Services Industry’ by IIM Ahmedabad and for his contribution to the Banking and Financial Services Industry by IIM Indore. In May 2016, he was recognized by the London Business School India Business Forum for Exemplary Contribution to Innovation and Entrepreneurship, He was also felicitated by the IIT, Mumbai for his exemplary contribution to fostering Entrepreneurship in India and by the IIM Kozhikode for his Exemplary Contribution to Financial Services. He was also felicitated by The Institute of Rural Management Anand (IRMA) for his “Exemplary Contribution to Agribusiness in Emerging Economies”. Mr. Kapoor received the ‘Best Business Innovator’ award at the Asia Business Leadership Forum. He was recognized as ‘Visionary Business and Banking Leader’ by NAREDCO, MCHI- CREDAI and FHRAI for contributions to the Housing,, Urban Infrastructure, Tourism & Hospitality sectors among others in 2014. He had earlier received The Asian Banker CEO Leadership Achievement Award for India, 2013. He has also received the 2013 Godfrey Phillips ‘National Special Social Award’ for actively driving the vision of Responsible Banking. He was acknowledged and received the Entrepreneur of the Year award at the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards 2011.Mr. Kapoor received the Indian Business Leader of the Year award at the FICCI-Horasis Global Indian Business Meeting 2010 in Spain, and was awarded the Start-up Entrepreneur of the Year 2005 at the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Awards.

Prior to establishing YES BANK, Rana Kapoor was CEO & Managing Director, and main Managing Partner of Rabo India Finance (RIF) Pvt. Ltd. (a corporate finance and investment banking organisation). He successfully spearheaded RIF as a foreign joint venture financial services organization in partnership with Rabobank (AAA rated) in India and assiduously built RIF as a Professional Entrepreneur from 1998-2003. Thereafter he sold his shareholdings to Rabobank, Netherlands, in early 2003.

Prior to starting Rabo India, he was the General Manager & Country Head: ANZ Grindlays’ Investment Bank (ANZIB, from 1996-98). He spent 15 years at Bank of America (1980-1995), where he last headed the Bank’s Wholesale Banking businesses and held several positions of increasing responsibility, including assignments in Asian countries. He was presented the Eagle Pin by the Chairman of Bank of America in 1990, the highest professional recognition for consistent performance excellence at Bank of America, amongst several other enterprising achievements.

Mr. Kapoor is a member of the following :–

  • Member, Chief Minister’s Advisory Council for Fintech, Government of Maharashtra
  • Member, Board of Management, Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT), Delhi
  • Member, NASSCOM Executive Council 2017-19
  • Past President, ASSOCHAM
  • Deputy Chairman, Indian Banks’ Association (IBA) (2011-12)
  • Member, Government of India’s Board of Trade
  • President, FICCI Maharashtra State Council (2010-11)
  • Member – Founders Circle, Brookings Institution
  • Vice President, Governing Council, University of Pennsylvania Institute for the Advanced Study of India (UPIASI)
  • President, The Council of EU Chambers of Commerce in India (2009 – 10)
  • Council Member, World Business Council for Sustainable Development
  • Member, Carbon Pricing Leadership Council
  • Honorary Consul General, Republic of Cyprus, Mumbai
  • Member, World Presidents’ Organization (WPO/ YPO
  • Member, Chief Executives’ Organization (CEO)